Thursday, December 15, 2005

Apple currently markets three distinct players bearing the iPod name. Some models come with different capacities (a higher capacity allows the storage of more music) or with different designs. The model range as of October 12, 2005 includes:

iPod (30 GB and 60 GB).
iPod nano (2 GB and 4 GB).
iPod shuffle (512 MB and 1 GB).
The iPod mini (4 GB and 6 GB and in various colors) was discontinued. It was replaced by the iPod nano. The iPod U2 Special Edition was discontinued. The Harry Potter 20 GB Collector's fourth-generation iPod was replaced by the Harry Potter 30 GB Collector's iPod, which is simply a fifth-generation iPod with a Harry Potter engraving and the Harry Potter audiobooks pre-loaded.

Several product revisions have taken place since the original model of iPod appeared, leading to the existence of five distinct generations. As with most hard drive-based devices, the actual drive space available for music, photo, video and data storage does not quite attain the advertised capacity. This comes about because the capacity advertised uses metric prefixes, not binary prefixes. For example, a 4 GB iPod mini actually had 3.77 GiB of usable storage


At 3:54 PM, Blogger Greg Liddle said...

Great blog
If you have a few minutes come and check out my
secure data site.
It covers a lot about secure data .


Post a Comment

<< Home

Advertise Here